Week 3 - Reisverslag uit Aberdeen, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Astrid Vries - WaarBenJij.nu Week 3 - Reisverslag uit Aberdeen, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Astrid Vries - WaarBenJij.nu

Week 3

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Astrid

23 November 2015 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Aberdeen

Ai, almost forgot to write my blog! Time flies! That means I’m enjoying my time here. I really love to talk with people from other countries about what they are used to and about everything what’s happening in the world. Everybody sees it from another view and learns from each other. I really believe that it’s important to listen to others and ask for further explanation when something isn’t clear, otherwise you are going to fill the holes with your own habits.

I’m getting used to the working environment with REACH and that’s really nice. That means that I’m able to be a Social Worker here, because I finally find the good words to say when people need my help. This is important, because there are students with autism here and they need clear explanations. I don’t want to make them insecure, so it’s important for me to prepare what I’m going to say. Sometimes I put a Dutch word in my sentence, just because I forgot to think about my English! This is good for the mood in the group when we are doing something serious, because we all start to laugh about it.

Friday was a school day for me, because I went to a Social Work class. This was interesting, because it was about a method that I didn’t learn in Holland. It was about helping somebody to get his/her dream for the future clear. Normally you use questions, but now there is also a graphic designer who’s drawing the answers. This makes the dream more clear and takes the load of the conversation.
It started to snow on Friday night and it was a little bit white when I woke up. Laura and I decided to take a run to the beach. It was weird to run on the beach, in the sun an on the snow!

I went to the church on Sunday, with my flat mate from Nigeria. It is a Christian church and they danced and song allot! Interesting experience!

Did you know that?
- It’s ok to show up 30 minutes later, than the time you had agreed, if it’s with somebody from Nigeria ;) Really nice on a Sunday morning…
- Dutch sounds like German and French for some people?
- It’s lovely to sit at the beach in the dark, even if it’s freezing?
- Scottish Eggs are nice? A boiled egg with sausage meat with mayo.
- Laughter lowers blood pressure and improves blood flow

I hope all the pictures will work, otherwise ask me to send a mail if you are interested in them.

Cheers,
Astrid

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Astrid

Tijdens de drie maanden in Aberdeen zal ik een kort dagboek bijhouden, zodat jullie een beetje op de hoogte kunnen blijven! Ik zal proberen elke week een stukje te schrijven en hopelijk wat mooie foto's toevoegen.

Actief sinds 23 Okt. 2015
Verslag gelezen: 200
Totaal aantal bezoekers 4359

Voorgaande reizen:

31 Oktober 2015 - 30 Januari 2016

Aberdeen, Schotland

Landen bezocht: